Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

A Naked Singularity por Sergio De Pava
A carregar...

A Naked Singularity (original 2012; edição 2008)

por Sergio De Pava (Autor)

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
3981847,551 (3.96)26
"A Naked Singularity tells the story of Casi, a child of Colombian immigrants who lives in Brooklyn and works in Manhattan as a public defender--one who, tellingly has never lost a trial. Never. In the book, we watch what happens when his sense of justice and even his sense of self begin to crack--and how his world then slowly devolves. It's a huge, ambitious novel clearly in the vein of DeLillo, Foster Wallace, Pynchon, and even Melville, and it's told in a distinct, frequently hilarious voice, with a striking human empathy at its center. Its panoramic reach takes readers through crime and courts, immigrant families and urban blight, media savagery and media satire, scatology and boxing, and even a breathless heist worthy of any crime novel. If Infinite Jest stuck a pin in the map of mid-90s culture and drew our trajectory from there, A Naked Singularity does the same for the feeling of surfeit, brokenness, and exhaustion that permeates our civic and cultural life today. In the opening sentence of William Gaddis's A Frolic of His Own, a character sneers, 'Justice? You get justice in the next world. In this world, you get the law.' A Naked Singularity reveals the extent of that gap, and lands firmly on the side of those who are forever getting the law"--Provided by publisher.… (mais)
Membro:badube
Título:A Naked Singularity
Autores:Sergio De Pava (Autor)
Informação:Xlibris Corporation (2008), Edition: First Edition, 692 pages
Colecções:A sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:to-read, power-society

Pormenores da obra

A Naked Singularity por Sergio De La Pava (2012)

Nenhum(a).

A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 26 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 18 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
I very rarely abandon books, but this one was a torture to read. I could not follow the story due to the disjointed dialogue and random philosophizing. Good riddance!! ( )
  Chrissylou62 | Aug 1, 2020 |
This is really good. Some of the boxing stuff is OH SHIT good, or would be were it a little longer. There's a safeness I'm not sure about. I'm not done though, so we'll see.

but there's this: De La Pava's style is remarkably similar to DFW's. I'll post some examples when I do a final review, but believe me when I say it's remarkably similar. IMO DFW's style is an amazing, precise thing which moves through text in a way that makes sense to me on the level of how I think about stuff, or how I think I think at least. Wallace's art is such a singular thing that in my mind this similarity seemed more a coincidence than an after-patterned thing. I mean to say if you literally were able to somewhat copy a truly wonderful art WHILE making your own art, you'd have to be a pretty damn good artist yourself, and so it just seems unlikely that you'd use your obviously large talent in this fashion. Not on purpose. You'd do your thing, whatever that was. You're shooting for what? A tie? And possibly I'm putting more into this than necessary because I was bugging Jesse about THE RECOGNITIONS the other day?

Anyway, today a chapter ended with the sentence

"A comedy in error, full of irony and self-reference and signifying an empty nil." ( )
  Adammmmm | Sep 10, 2019 |
It was actually quite nice here yesterday. The trouble to enjoying such was that it was the Third. Today is the Fourth and we are off on holiday. It is also infernal outdoors. Despite such I went out this a.m. and walked for hour while listening to Morrissey and Shine On You Crazy Diamond. I returned all a-soak and lobsterized by the maltreatment. It was decided then and there as I rehydrated that I would finish A Naked Singularity. The final 200 pages were clipped and episodic, losing the torque achieved in the previous 550. It does work and compel as a novel, an interrogation of our cozy humanity and our sense of fairness.

My director at work has a son employed as a public defender. I told her about the novel and she in turn bought it for her son. I am hopeful for the best, there. I was gripped by the far-flung elements and have found little energy for weighing them in tandem. There are arcs of function and decay throughout the myriad situations. At least today, I find it redundant to reconcile such.

Symbolism is often ephemeral. It is fitting that A Naked Singularity is listed as my 1000th book completed, though in typing such, i think it would be better illustrated as the next.
( )
  jonfaith | Feb 22, 2019 |
Amazing narrative. A little like Fear and Loathing without the tripping. Reminds me of a more intense Tom Wolf, and Joseph Heller type characters (Dane). ( )
  jody12 | Jun 14, 2018 |
A little uneven, but mostly brilliant. ( )
  P1g5purt | Mar 21, 2018 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 18 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica
Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Locais importantes
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Prémios e menções honrosas
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Língua original
DDC/MDS canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês (1)

"A Naked Singularity tells the story of Casi, a child of Colombian immigrants who lives in Brooklyn and works in Manhattan as a public defender--one who, tellingly has never lost a trial. Never. In the book, we watch what happens when his sense of justice and even his sense of self begin to crack--and how his world then slowly devolves. It's a huge, ambitious novel clearly in the vein of DeLillo, Foster Wallace, Pynchon, and even Melville, and it's told in a distinct, frequently hilarious voice, with a striking human empathy at its center. Its panoramic reach takes readers through crime and courts, immigrant families and urban blight, media savagery and media satire, scatology and boxing, and even a breathless heist worthy of any crime novel. If Infinite Jest stuck a pin in the map of mid-90s culture and drew our trajectory from there, A Naked Singularity does the same for the feeling of surfeit, brokenness, and exhaustion that permeates our civic and cultural life today. In the opening sentence of William Gaddis's A Frolic of His Own, a character sneers, 'Justice? You get justice in the next world. In this world, you get the law.' A Naked Singularity reveals the extent of that gap, and lands firmly on the side of those who are forever getting the law"--Provided by publisher.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

Ligações Rápidas

Capas populares

Avaliação

Média: (3.96)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2 3
2.5 1
3 8
3.5 5
4 26
4.5 4
5 19

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 155,666,558 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível