Página InicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquisar O Sítio Web
Este sítio web usa «cookies» para fornecer os seus serviços, para melhorar o desempenho, para analítica e (se não estiver autenticado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing está a reconhecer que leu e compreende os nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade. A sua utilização deste sítio e serviços está sujeita a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados dos Livros Google

Carregue numa fotografia para ir para os Livros Google.

A carregar...

The Poet X

por Elizabeth Acevedo

Outros autores: Ver a secção outros autores.

MembrosCríticasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
2,5591675,791 (4.44)156
Poetry. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:

Don't miss this acclaimed audiobook, read by the authorwinner of an Odyssey Honor and an AudioFile Earphones Award winner!

The Poet X is also the winner of the National Book Award for Young People's Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpr Award.

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayersespecially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

"Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

"An incredibly potent debut." Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

.
… (mais)
A carregar...

Adira ao LibraryThing para descobrir se irá gostar deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 156 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 168 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
The Poet X, written by Elizabeth Acevedo, tells the story of Xiomara Batista, a young girl growing up in Harlem. Xiomara feels unheard and unseen in her loud and chaotic world, but she discovers solace and strength in writing poetry. Through her poems, she explores her complex relationship with her strict Dominican parents, her evolving sense of self, and her budding romance with a boy named Aman.The Poet X is suitable for readers aged 13 and up. The novel offers opportunities for creative writing exercises, where students can write their own poems inspired by Xiomara's journey or explore themes of identity and belonging in their own lives.
  TravisJ | Apr 24, 2024 |
In her debut novel, Acevedo tells the story of a teen from Harlem, who finds her voice in writing poetry, but who struggles against her mother’s expectations.

I love poetry. I am in awe with how much a poet can convey in so few words. And Acevedo does a truly marvelous job in this novel-in-verse.

Xiomara (sometimes referred to as Xio or simply X) is not the best student, but when it comes to her poetry her English teacher recognizes talent and encourages Xio to express herself. Being a teenager is hard. Xio’s path is further complicated by her early development of “curves” and by her twin brother’s genius status. (He has skipped a grade and attends a different school.) Then there is her mother, who at one time wanted to be a nun, but instead married Xio’s father. Mami insists that Xio attend church and be pious, but Xio isn’t feeling it.

She isn’t at all wild, but she is attracted to a boy in her biology lab. She would like to be able to be a normal teenager, with friends, including boys, but she cannot talk to her mother. So, she pours her feelings into her poetry, written in a leather-bound notebook her twin gave her. As she finds her voice, she also finds the courage to be herself. ( )
  BookConcierge | Feb 23, 2024 |
I read this book switching back and forth between audiobook and physical, and it was really wonderful both ways! It’s honest, engaging, and lively, and there was never a point where I wasn’t interested in X’s story. The explorations of thoughts on family, religious belief, teenage feelings, and finding your voice were all handled with such care and truthfulness that it was almost impossible to not become emotional involved. Acevedo is definitely an auto-read author for me now, both this and “With the Fire on High” were incredible books! ( )
  deborahee | Feb 23, 2024 |
Sooo good! My favorite poem was the one originally written in Spanish. ( )
  Dances_with_Words | Jan 6, 2024 |
I listened to the audiobook edition of this novel in verse, The Poet X, narrated by the author Elizabeth Acevedo herself.
A Dominican American teen, Xiomara, living in Spanish Harlem, writes of her life with her family: her twin brother, her father and her extremely religious Catholic mother. She write of her hopes and dreams, her internal battles with Catholicism, unwanted attention by males, her first love, her love of writing and poetry. Beautiful! ( )
  deslivres5 | Jan 4, 2024 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 168 (seguinte | mostrar todos)
sem críticas | adicionar uma crítica

» Adicionar outros autores

Nome do autorPapelTipo de autorObra?Estado
Acevedo, ElizabethAutorautor principaltodas as ediçõesconfirmado
Acevedo, ElizabethNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado

Prémios

Distinctions

Notable Lists

Tem de autenticar-se para poder editar dados do Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Comum.
Título canónico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Locais importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Acontecimentos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
To Katherine Bolaños and my former students at Buck Lodge Middle School 2010-2012, and all the little sisters yearning to see themselves: this is for you
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Friday, August 24
Stoop-Sitting

The summer is made for stoop-sitting
and since it's the last week before school starts,
Harlem is opening its eyes to September.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Carregue para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Nota de desambiguação
Editores da Editora
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Autores de citações elogiosas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Língua original
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
DDC/MDS canónico
LCC Canónico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Poetry. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:

Don't miss this acclaimed audiobook, read by the authorwinner of an Odyssey Honor and an AudioFile Earphones Award winner!

The Poet X is also the winner of the National Book Award for Young People's Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpr Award.

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayersespecially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

"Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

"An incredibly potent debut." Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo Haiku

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alum

Elizabeth Acevedo's book The Poet X was available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Ligações Rápidas

Avaliação

Média: (4.44)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 7
2.5 1
3 32
3.5 15
4 196
4.5 44
5 294

É você?

Torne-se num Autor LibraryThing.

 

Acerca | Contacto | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blogue | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Legadas | Primeiros Críticos | Conhecimento Comum | 205,829,010 livros! | Barra de topo: Sempre visível